Meghalaya News

List of 22 New Containment Zone in Shillong

Shillong: 22 new areas are newly identified as containment zone in Shillong by the District Administration of East Khasi Hills after the detection of positive COVlD-19 cases in these areas.

List of Containment Zone in Shillong

  • Oakland Municipality quarters
  • Rauf Ahmed Building
  • Keating Road
  • Jhalupara, Mawbah Barapathar
  • Mawlai Umjaiur
  • Mawlai Nongpdeng
  • Mawlai Mawtawar
  • Umshing Umjapung
  • Mawiong Rim
  • Central to Lower Nongrim Hills from Lailad to Bamon Service Station
  • Block D of Nongrimmaw (areas situated on left side of Arbuthnot Road from Lailad upto old DGAR)
  • Lower Lummawrie (from building of Dr.P.K. War till old Super Care building)
  • Lower Lachumiere (Hopkinson Road from Stephen Hall to Gold Gym)
  • Demseiniong (Assam Rifles Signal Unit)
  • Nongrah Dongktieh
  • Malki Nongshiliang
  • Malki Chinapatty
  • Nongmensong Lumkdait
  • Lumshyiap Nongmensong
  • Laitkor Pyllun
  • Kreit Mawshaton

East Khasi Hills, Deputy Commissioner, Mataiewdor War Nongbri said, “The affected areas require aggressive contact tracing, quarantine, testing, and isolation as well as containment in the interest of the health of the general public.”

Shillong will go for 3 days total lockdown from Sunday midnight (July 26).

No person and public are allowed to move into these containment areas and inhabitants within the containment areas also not allowed to move out, besides, all inhabitants within the containment areas must strictly remain inside their homes.

This order will not apply to health workers and essential workers of the Shillong Municipal Board.

The order also stated that any violation of the order will entail prosecution under the penal provision of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, and IPC.

Leave a Comment